446 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Devastatingly horrific
stevenfallonnyc27 December 2018
I admit, the reviews here at the IMDB inspired me to see this movie without exactly going to the theater, and check it out. I love "so bad it's good" movies, and when I come across a "so bad it's just bad" film, I like to see for myself just how bad.

Well, this is bad.

Did I say bad? I meant, unfathomably bad, as in you simply will not believe how incomprehensibly dreadful this utter garbage is. So void of any humor, wit, charm, heart, or talent whatsoever, if you actually pay money to see this craparama, you will most likely be enraged....at yourself, for taking a chance on this anyway, despite these reviews, and wasting good cash.

This is a film of immeasurable ineptitude. And I won't even discuss Will Ferrell too much - never have I seen any human being in my entire life as incredibly unfunny as he is in this movie. I'll leave that at that.

Whether for yourself, or as a couple, or as a family, there are infinitely more choices to spend that money on than seeing this. If you still want to see this, I suggest you either burn the money in the oven or toss in down the toilet and then go to sleep, because that's easier than going to see this film, with the same result. (Incidentally, I actually made it just halfway through.)

Maybe the most amazing thing is how this train wreck unbelievably passed through every step to actually have a theatrical release, and in almost three thousand theaters no less. You must, and I mean must, take heed with these reviews and save yourself the torture. This movie is an absolute colossal waste of time and money.
436 out of 536 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I was wrong
angelinafpalmer1 January 2019
I always thought giving birth was the most painful thing I would ever experience. I was wrong. Watching 5 minutes of this movie was far more painful.
169 out of 213 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolutely Horrible
jeffyancey-6693226 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Really bad end to a wonderful Christmas day.

I laughed 2 or 3 times during the movie but the laughs were very forced. I wanted the movie to be funny. I really wanted to feel like it was worth my time/money but had I not paid to see this I would have left.

I'm 57 years old and this is by far the worst movie I've ever sat through. Almost no laughter in the theatre and tons of negative comments from others as we were leaving.

Really beyond me how this "movie" ever made it to the screen.

I was done bashing this movie but I just had to click a yes/no question as to whether this review contained spoilers. I have absolutely no idea how I could spoil this movie with a review. There is no plot to spoil. The Butler did it!? That may be a spoiler.....

There is almost no comedy. There really is no movie to review. WOW!
321 out of 428 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Ruined my popcorn.
daniellawsonrt27 December 2018
I love the experience of going to the movies, loading up with popcorn and Coca-Cola and sitting in big comfy chairs. It doesn't matter if the movie is good or bad. Then Holmes & Watson came along and changed all that. This film is a mess from start to finish, if you're expecting to see another Step Brothers or Talladega Nights, you will be sorely disappointed.
192 out of 270 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
First movie I've ever walked out of
PinkOval26 December 2018
Never have I ever been so bored, disgusted, and repulsed by a movie. My family and I collectively decided to walk out about an hour in, realizing what a waste of time this film has been. There are so many better movies in theaters right now- please, please, please stay away from this hot garbage.
219 out of 317 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, wasted a good Xmas visit with my kids
imdb-2328326 December 2018
This is a terrible movie. Not funny. The jokes and gags fall flat and why the Trump jokes, American gun jokes, women's pay joke, and general anti-American sentiment? Is this what is seen as funny in Hollywood?? Do not waste your time or money on this movie.
259 out of 416 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just One Redeeming Quality
kurtalderman27 December 2018
The movie was explosively bad. Other reviewers have said it, but it's so bad, it's worth stating again. There were a lot of people that made one bad decision after another to get this trash to the theatre. The film's inept writing, directing, and acting is really rather astonishing. The un-funny gags were telegraphed so badly you couldn't help but see the mediocrity coming, and when the gag came and went while the theatre went silent, I'm certain I've got allies in my review. I'm really disappointed because this movie could have been terrific and side splittingly funny but it missed badly at every level.

My biggest gripe, however, was what seemed to be an entire movie made so the writer, Etan Cohen, and others I'm sure, could go political. What a total s**t show. I go to movies as an escape, to enjoy my self, and to take a break from reality. Frankly I'm more than a little bothered having spent my money so Etan can tell me about his politics. I may or may not agree with him, but that's not the point. Do you see my point?

There's no spoilers here other than to say this is the worst movie I've ever paid to see; it's political, and I doubt there is anyone on screen I'll bet supporting again. Oh, the one redeeming quality? It's the amazing reclining leather chairs in the remodeled theatre, it was the only reason I stayed.
159 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What's actually happening with Hollywood comedies
andeemartin-8168531 December 2018
It's been ten years since Will Farrell and John C Reilly starred in a movie together. Their previous two outtings not only done well at the box office but are now considered to be classic. This movie must have been something many comedy fans have been waiting for... but what went wrong? I don't think I've read such bad reviews for quite sometime. Luckily or some may say unluckily I went to see it before I read anything about the movie. Honestly, I don't think the world needs another Sherlock Holmes spoof, it's been done to death almost as much as spoofing James Bond but I was in the mood for a comedy and this was really my only choice. Comedy at the cinema isn't as easy to come by nowadays I find, so seeing these two guys in a film together again I thought.... it can't be that bad. My honest opinion is... well it isn't that bad. Moments made me laugh, I felt it was paced well and although not as good as their last two movies I felt their fans would get something from it. I do however see why people are disappointed. Ferrell's portrait as Holmes, I can seeing being annoying to many, it's pretty crude for a 12 certificate (UK , guessing PG-13 in the US)..Mostly though I think is the advertising of the rest of the cast. Several actors names are on the posters, they appear in the trailer but are barely in it. Steve Coogan has a cameo at best. Fans of these actors will only come away disappointed. If they were unexpected,I think the audience would come away pleased with their appearances. Like when Bill Murray pops up in 'Zombieland' for example. Overall it made me chuckle a fair bit, which is the point of a comedy and I can't think of many films that have done thst for me this year. Most of the comedies we get are animated (lately far more laughs in a pixar than in a live action movie) or the odd random film like 'tag' which although a better made film than this, I dont think I laughed more. I do miss the days of looking forward to the latest movies from my favourite comic actors like Steve Martin, John Candy, Chevy Chase and even Adam Sandler. I saw Will Farrell as one of the last of this breed. It would be a shame for this misfired movie to ruin his career. I think in years to come it will be seen as more favourable. Also I couldn't help comparing it to the Peter Cook/Dudley Moore 'Hound of the baskervilles' another bomb with a great cast. Actually I say give that movie a go, you may realise this one isn't too bad after all. Hollywood comedy seems in a slump at the moment, we either need to not have our expectations too high or possibly throw movies the way of new talent? Maybe both. After this I'm not sure this pair will get the chance to make other film together. A shame.... who knows though they may need the money and the audience get the long awaited Stepbrothers 2. At least they tried something different I guess, remember the first 'Police Academy' was great but sequels aren't always the way forward.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dumpster Fire
reidiq26 December 2018
I wish I could rate this movie 0/10. Absolute waste of time. I tried to laugh but was forcing myself in hopes that it would get better.
146 out of 232 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
BAD MOVIE ALERT! AND NOT FUNNY!
devilish_charm26 December 2018
About an hour into the screening of this movie, more and more audiences started collecting their belongings and left the cinema. They were the wise ones, not wanting to waste another second of their precious time on this terrible and unfunny movie. I think Will Ferrell imagined this movie differently in his mind. But what is shown on screen is shockingly unfunny, irritating to watch, and oh so boring! Step brother this is not.
129 out of 211 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Better than I thought!
adamlockyer96 January 2019
There's no denying it that this movie is pretty bad but its that good bad, you know like Sharknado. Ferrell and Reilly's accents were shocking, acting was terrible and the plot messy. Although some of the jokes actually had me laughing out loud, especially the post drinking scene, where Downey's Sherlock was lampooned. No where as good as Step Brothers but it's still enjoyable, if I were you switch your brain off before watching, you might enjoy it too.
21 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Absolute Garbage
VegasB1826 December 2018
Holmes & Watson is easily the worst movie of the year and quite possibly competes for worst movie of all time. It's unyeildingly bad. The jokes are often recycled and every single one falls flat. The story wanders almost aimlessly and the production value is bottom of the barrel. There is seriously nothing redeeming about this movie. Save your money. This is no Step Brothers. This is pure unadulterated trash.
128 out of 212 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Do Not Expect Another Step Brothers
mandonut128 December 2018
If you're looking for another Step Brothers quality movie, you will be disappointed. But I wasn't expecting that. I was expecting cheap, stupid laughs that Will Ferrell and John C. Reilly do so well; and that's what I got. One and done leave your brain at the door comedy. So I was pleased.
67 out of 108 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
GARBAGE
laxplaya22626 December 2018
Waste of time & money. Stay home and watch Talladega Nights or Step brothers.

Awful forced humor.

Should've known by Will Ferrell's story on Jimmy Kimmell live, of Mark Strongs reaction to hearing about them playing Holmes & Watson, that this would be garbage.

Paper tiger cast at first sight and a true letdown.
109 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I don't understand why everyone is so upset
dancing_neonate30 December 2018
It really wasn't that bad of a movie. Everything was funny but it was family friendly. If people wanted stepbrothers they should've stayed home and watched that. It was PG-13 so people should've know what they were walking into
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Ignore the haters
timryckman2 January 2019
The flood of 1 out of 10 reviews made me a bit nervous to pay money to see this movie but I love both of these guys. Both me and my fiance went in with low expectations and laughed far more than we expected. If you go in knowing that it's going to be dumb and it's not Step Brothers, you may actually have a decent time.
23 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wish I could give this a 0.
morethanmerrick26 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Probably the worst film I have ever seen and I have seen Disaster Movie. Will Ferrell has join the Adam Sandler tier of fooling audiences and stealing their money. John C. Riley deserves better- he's an actual actor. Oh, and, spoiler alert, if you've seen Talladega Nights, you've seen Holmes and Watson. Can't wait for Red Letter Media to tear this film apart.
90 out of 161 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's a good movie!
eddavidson-8331530 December 2018
I don't care what these people say it is a funny movie and I don't see why people are making a fuss about it, I loved this movie with all its stupid humor. The people in the theater loved it too they laughed at every funny scene and there was no unhappy faces or people walking out. I think people just need to get a sense of humor.
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
As always, don't listen to the negative reviews
thecore1331 December 2018
This is your typical Will Ferrell romp. You don't go in expecting an award-winning feel-good film of the year. Some of the reviews labeling this as the "worst film ever" or "absolute trash" clearly haven't sat through anything The Rock has put out this year. Or maybe the Rock is more their bag? Who knows. This doesn't deserve any of the bashing. I miss the days of actual decent film critiques, not whiny, arrogant reviews from 57 year old guys who just figured out how social media commenting works. This movie is actually funny, like a 6/10 Will Ferrell-kinda-funny. Some big, silly awkward laughs. Enjoy the movie for what it is. Not awful. Calm yourselves, haters. I hope someone hugs you.
28 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's funny
louisecarterla29 December 2018
Why all the bad reviews? Goodness me.. it's meant to be a holiday movie. Exactly that, we enjoyed it.
28 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Critics and people are too harsh, just let yourself have fun!
yumacindy2 January 2019
I walked into this movie knowing the horrible reviews and have to say, it's funny and I walked away smiling. I actually laughed so hard at one scene that I almost had to leave the theatre as to not be disruptive, that is incredibly rare. John C Reilly is hilarious and underrated, Will Farrell is hilarious but even better when paired with John C Reilly. So, if you want a movie that will just help you forget the real world and make you smile and often laugh, hard...then give this movie a chance.
35 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
It's a comedy, not an Oscar film people
selectsoccerboy31 December 2018
It's a funny movie, and I'm not sure why people are giving it hate. It's meant to make you laugh, not awe you or inspire you. The plot is odd and so are the characters but the movie is funny. If you don't find it at least half-funny then you probably have an awful and unsophisticated sense of humor. Those that are upset are probably triggered Republicans since they poke fun at Trump a few times! Got over yourselves movie snobs, take it for what it is!
35 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Terrific!
marcushopper30 December 2018
Loved all the politics! Especially the TRUMP jokes, and American gun jokes. This is equally as good as other films. The talledega brothers have down it again. Didn't even need popcorn for this one. Just a hot soda.
36 out of 60 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great FUNNY Comedy!!! Don't read reviews of old grumpy people!!
smilegel10 January 2019
I haven't read any bad reviews that actually coherrently stated why. Those old people or those with no sense of humor expected some kind of kid comedy - I guess they failed to understand this is a DARK COMEDY. It made fun of English people, America, traditions,etc and that's pretty much why those people hated it. Feminists hated for the female jokes. Trump supporters didn't appreciate the stab at the current boy in charge... and English people got very angry for all bellow the belt English jokes ( which are hilarious!!!)

Lighten up people. Learn to understand what dark humor and comedy is! If you look pass all the politics and just enjoy the subtle humor, you will LOVE this funny movie! It is very funny. It won't win awards, but it will make you smile if you are into that kind of stuff. In the last couple years FAR FAR worse comedies were rated twice as high and the current rating is just FAKE because of all the people with no sense of humor who brought politics into their reviews.

Enjoy!!
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What point did the writers think this was funny?
HollywoodDayPlaya27 December 2018
Seriously. Absolutely awful. Then of course you've gotta interject the bitter feminism along with it. Oh, but what a coincidence, the women were the most unfunny part of this. Trump bashing. Wow, what a ground breaking concept. We get it, everyone hates the president. Ridiculously awful. Talledaga and Step Brothers were such classics. So disappointed.
95 out of 174 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed